Amateur Snooker - 2015 European Snooker Championships

2nd-13th June 2015 - The Top Hotel, Prague, Czech Republic


Michael Wild of England has become the 2015 European  Snooker Champion after 11 days frantic action at the Top Hotel in Prague.

The 24th staging of this event was being held in the Czech Republic for the very first time. Once again the growth and popularity of snooker across Europe was evident, with 36 nations represented in the Men’s division.

104 entrants started off in 16 groups of 6 or 7, with the top 4 all qualifying for the last 64 knockouts.

34 year old Wild breezed through his pool with 5 victories out of 5, aided with a string of consistent half century breaks.

He then ended the hopes of young Russian Ivan Kakovsky 4-2, before going nap with further wins against Sigurdur Kristjansson, and a deciding frame finish over Mateusz Baranowski. He clearly upped his game within this period making breaks of 129, 128 and 104.

In the last 8 Wild eliminated fellow countryman Anthony Parsons, then in the semi-finals recovered from a 2-0 deficit to get the better of German hotshot Lukas Kleckers. 

In the final he would face the 2011 European Junior Open Champion Jamie Clarke from Wales - meaning all eleven of Wilds opponents throughout the event were from different countries.

The champion to be made an excellent start with a dominant first session in the best of 13 clash; taking a 5-1 lead into the interval.

Although Clarke would briefly rally, Wild came through a 7-4 winner to take the title and 1600Euro prize money.

He also receives a coveted nomination to compete on the World Snooker Tour as a professional for the next two seasons. It will be a return to pro status for Wild after competing amongst that tier back in the 2003/2004 campaign.

He is the 7th Englishman to have won European amateur snooker’s most prestigious crown, and the second in succession after Mitchell Mann’s triumph in 2014. 

With the European Championships finished, the 2014/2015 World Snooker register of players is now finalised.

Welsh snooker legend Darren Morgan continues his impressive amateur record since retiring from the full time professional ranks, as he becomes the 2015 European Masters Champion.

It is the sixth time he has won this over 40’s tournament, and despite by his own admission not playing 100%, he was still a cut above the 65 player field which was assembled from a plethora of countries.

Morgan began his onslaught by not dropping a single frame during the group stages; he won all 5 matches 3-0

He had very similar results in the KO section, winning 4-1, 4-1, 5-0, 5-1 before culminating in a 6-2 defeat of England’s Jamie Bodle in the final.

2015 European Snooker Championship
Results (from the last 32 onwards)
Antony Parsons (England)                            4-1        Ismail Turker (Turkey)
Tomasz Skalski (Belgium)                             0-4        Robert Carlisle (Scotland)
Michael Wild (England)                                  4-1        Sigurour Kristjansson (Iceland)
Roman Dietzel (Germany)                             3-4        Mateusz Baranowski (Poland)
Michael Collumb (Scotland)                          4-2        Sascha Lippe (Germany)
Lukas Kleckers (Germany)                             4-2        Adam Stefanow (Poland)
Jurian Heusdens (Belgium)                            2-4        Rune Kampe (Denmark)
Andreas Ploner (Austria)                                2-4        Kristian Helgason (Iceland)
Brendan O’Donoghue (Rep. of Ireland)     4-0        Sam Thomas (Wales)
Jamie Clarke (Wales)                                        4-1        Krzystof Wrobel (Poland)
Raymond Fry (Northern Ireland)                 2-4        Brian Cini (Malta)
Jason Peplow (Malta)                                       4-2        John Whitty (England)
Andres Petrov (Estonia)                                  4-3        Antonis Poullos (Cyprus)
Maor Shalom (Israel)                                        1-4        Declan Lavery (Northern Ireland)
Greg Casey (Rep. of Ireland)                          1-4        Shachar Ruberg (Israel)
Maris Volajs (Latvia)                                        0-4        Kacper Filipiak (Poland)

(last 16)
Parsons            5-4    Carlisle
Wild                   5-4    Baranowski
Collumb            1-5    Kleckers
Kampe              2-5    Helgason
O’Donoghue    1-5    Clarke
Cini                    5-1    Peplow
Petrov               5-4    Lavery
Ruberg              3-5    Filipiak

Parsons       3-5    Wild
Kleckers     5-3    Helgason
Clarke         5-4    Cini
Petrov         5-0    Filipiak

Wild        6-3    Kleckers
Clarke     6-3    Petrov

Wild        7-4    Clarke

Highest break - 138 Adam Stefanow (Poland)

2015 European Masters Snooker Championship
Results (from the Quarter-Finals onwards)
Elfed Evans (Wales)                     1-5        Jamie Bodle (England)
Wayne Brown (England)            5-1         Yvan Van Velthoven (Belgium)
Joris Maas (Netherlands)           5-3        Colin Bingham (England)
Stephane Ochoiski (France)     0-5        Darren Morgan (Wales)

Bodle        5-1    Brown
Maas         1-5    Morgan

Bodle        2-6    Morgan

Highest Break - 108 Jamie Bodle (England)

written by Michael Day, published on 21st June 2015

Our sponsor...