​Wheelchair Pool - 2015 European Championships
12th-22nd April 2015 / Hotel Resort Ria Park, Vale Do Lobo, Portugal


Finland’s Jouni Tahti and Ireland’s Fred Dinsmore put in gold medal efforts at the 2015 European Wheelchair Championships.

Tahti once again swelled his list of awards and accolades in these championships, taking career gold medals number 17 and 18.

First up, in the 10 Ball discipline, Tahti made the semi-finals unbeaten, where he then eliminated Great Britain’s Roy Kimberley 6-4.

In the final he would meet Belgian Kurt Deklerck, who came through from the losers side. Deklerck looked set to shock the Finn when he lead 4-2 and 5-3, but Tahti found another gear to win the last three racks for a 6-5 victory.

Tahti would double up in the last event of the festival - the 9 Ball division.

Again, he came through qualifying unscathed, and then resigned Dinsmore to the bronze with a 7-5 success in the Last 4.

Another Team GB representative, Tony Southern, would wait in the gold medal decider.

The pair would be locked at 3-3, but after an hour’s play this was deemed to be too slow by the tournament officials, who then placed the match on the clock.

This appeared to suit Tahti more, as he won four of the next five racks to taste yet more glory.

In between was the 8 Ball section, where Dinsmore had to come through the long way after a defeat in his second tie.

In the losers qualifier he ousted Kimberley 5-4, in the semi’s he survived the same fate over Deklerk, before beating Daniel Luton 5-2 for the top honour.

It is Dinsmore’s fifth European gold in the various events.

Semi-Finals(losers receive Bronze)
Fred Dinsmore (Ireland)        5-6    Kurt Deklerck (Belgium)
Jouni Tahti (Finland)        6-4    Roy Kimberley (Great Britain)

Final(winner receives Gold / runner-up receives Silver)
Deklerck    5-6    Tahti

Semi-Finals(losers receive Bronze)
Kurt Deklerk (Belgium)        6-7    Tony Southern (Great Britain)
Jouni Tahti (Finland)        7-5    Fred Dinsmore (Ireland)

Final(winner receives Gold / runner-up receives Silver)
Southern    4-7    Tahti

Semi-Finals(losers receive Bronze)
Tony Southern (Great Britain)    3-5    Daniel Luton (Great Britain)
Kurt Deklerck (Belgium)        4-5    Fred Dinsmore (Ireland)

(winner receives Gold / runner-up receives Silver)
Luton        2-5    Dinsmore

All pictures are courtesy of the EPBF

Written and published by Michael Day

Our sponsor...

Our Friends...