Our sponsor...


                                                    3rd -10th January 2015 - Bugibba, Malta

Belgium’s Wesley Pelgrims became the 2015 Under 17’s European Open Champion after a hard fought weeks worth of snooker in Bugibba, Malta.

Contestants from England, Ireland, Belgium, Sweden, Thailand and the host nation Malta, were vying for a title that had Luca Brecel as a previous winner back in 2007.

Pelgrims qualified second in his group, and then defeated English pairing of Lewis Gillen 4-3 and James Pearson 4-0 in the quarter and semi-finals respectively. 

In a high drama final, he beat another contender from England, the previously unbeaten Hamim Hussain, 5-4 to take the honours.

2015 Under 17's European Snooker Open

RESULTS (from Quarter-Finals onwards)
Wesley PELGRIMS (Belgium)        4-3    Lewis GILLEN (England)
Ben MURPHY (England)                 4-1     Fergal QUINN (Ireland)
Hamim HUSSAIN (England)          4-1    Manasawin PHETMALAIKUL (Thailand)
James PEARSON (England)            4-3    Oliver MULCAHY (England)

PELGRIMS              4-0    PEARSON
HUSSAIN                4-0    MURPHY

PELGRIMS              5-4    HUSSAIN

written by Michael Day, published on 18th June 2015