Professional Pool - 2015 US Open 9 Ball Championship
25th-30th October 2015 / Sheraton Norfolk Waterside, Norfolk, USA

               NEW ORDER AT US OPEN

Yu-Hsuan Cheng created history at the 40th US Open 9 Ball Championship by becoming the first player from Chinese Taipei to lift the trophy.

Although not being one of the more talked about fancied favourites when the competition broke off, the result is hardly a surprise for a number of reasons. Taiwanese cueists have been at the forefront of success throughout the year; highlighted by Ko Pin Yi’s 9 & 10 Ball World Championship winning double, alongside their claiming of the World Cup of Pool title.

Cheng was also fresh from winning the Miyun leg of the lucrative CBSA International 9 Ball Tour in China only a fortnight previously, and it was this form that would translate to his undefeated route to the $40,000 first prize in Norfolk.

With the undoubted star cast of international superstars from far and wide, it was inevitable to see champions scrapping it out in the early rounds of the losers side. 

The most significant shock of the opening series of matches was the before mention World Number 1, Ko Pin Yi, who was sensationally downed by female star Karen Corr 11-4. Despite the pool playing public being well aware of Corr’s skill and power,  the scoreline will have certainly been a shock.

Scott Frost, Imran Majid and Raj Hundal were feature names who departed at the first available avenue, whilst Ko Pin Chung (talented younger brother of Yi), Oscar Dominguez, Fabio Petroni, David Alcaide and 5-time legendary champion Earl Strickland, would soon follow.

More of the report to come soon…

Final Standings

1st    Cheng Yu-Hsuan (Chinese Taipei) $40,000
2nd  Karl Boyes (Great Britain) $20,000
3rd   Liu Haitao (China) $10,000
4th  Ralf Souquet (Germany) $7,000
=5th Jayson Shaw (Great Britain) $5,000
         Hsu Kai Lun (Chinese Taipei) $5,000
=7th Dennis Orcollo (Philippines) $4,000
          Ruslan Chinahov (Russia) $4,000
=9th Corey Deuel (USA) $3,000
          Justin Bergman (USA) $3,000
          Jundel Mazon (Philippines) $3,000
          Oliver Ortmann (Germany) $3,000
=13th Mike Dechaine (USA) $2,750
            Jeffrey Ignacio (Philipppines) $2,750
           Carlo Biado (Philippines)  $2,750
           Rodney Morris (USA) $2,750​

Written and published by Michael Day

Our Friends...

Our sponsor...