Our sponsor...

Professional Pool - 2015 World Pool Masters

14th-16th August 2015, Victoria Warehouse, Manchester, England


           2015 WORLD POOL MASTERS

The World Pool Masters is one of the most prestigious titles in 9 Ball Pool. The 2015 version will once again be held in England, but this time with a change of venue, as the championship moves to the fantastic Victoria Warehouse in Manchester, over the weekend of 14th-16th August.

First held in 1994, this Matchroom staged event will be in its 22nd consecutive yearly edition, with 16 of the planets greatest players vying for the title, trophy and $20,000 first prize.
PartyPoker will continue their brand association as main sponsors.

Defending champion Shane Van Boening of the USA will be back after his success in Nottingham last year. It was only the second time an American had won the WPM crown, after Earl Strickland’s victory back in 1997. It also halted question marks over Van Boening’s ability to win a major overseas singles event.

2013 winner and current World 9 Ball Champion Niels Feijen is also set to compete, as is rising star Johann Chua from the Phillipines, who will make his maiden Masters appearance.

Taiwans Ko Pin Yi, this years World 10 Ball Champion, and China’s World Number 6 Liu Haitao, will also boost the strong Asian contingent.

Multiple Canadian national winner John Morra makes a return after his last outing in 2010, whilst Mosconi Cup star Nikos Ekonomopoulos of Greece will aim to go one better, after being runner up here last year. Also appearing again will be Waleed Majid (Qatar), James Georgiadis (Australia) and Mateusz Sniegocki (Poland), who will add further international flavour to the proceedings. In all, there will be players from 14 different nations involved.

Pool legend Ralph Souquet from Germany will also be back after a short absence. ‘The Kaiser’ has won this event a whopping six times; four more than anyone else.

Home supporters will be pleased to see four British participants in action. The talented Turning Stone Classic winner Jayson Shaw of Scotland, and reigning World Cup of Pool Champion pairing Darren Appleton and Karl Boyes of England. Appleton tasted glory during this format in 2009 as well.

The fourth person of that quartet will be either former World and WPM Champion Daryl Peach, or the ever consistent Mark Gray. The pair will play-off in July for the honour.

South America will also be represented, with their nomination being made clear after their upcoming Continental Championship. With there involvement too, the 2015 World Pool Masters will be a truly global affair.

I also have to admire how Matchroom Sport have stuck with this tournament, and continued to promote it despite problems over the last decade with American Pool in general.

With continued good prize money and television coverage, the World Pool Masters is certainly one of the jewels in the crown of the sport.

2015 World Pool Masters Draw 
Shane Van Boening (USA) (1)                 v    John Morra (Canada)

Waleed Majid (Qatar) (8)                         v    Jayson Shaw (Scotland)

Liu Haitao (China) (5)                               v    Karl Boyes (England)

Niels Feijen (Holland) (4)                        v    South American Qualifier

Darren Appleton (England) (3)              v    Mateusz Sniegocki (Poland)

Johann Chua (Philippines) (6)               v    James Georgiadis (Australia)

Nikos Economopoulos (Greece) (7)     v    Ralf Souquet (Germany)

Ko Pin Yi (Taiwan) (2)                               v    Daryl Peach or Mark Gray (England)

STOP PRESS - Since the article has been published, Mark Gray defeated Daryl Peach 21-11 in the qualification play-off. This was held at the Escape Pool Bar in Barnsley, England

Seedings are in brackets. These are determined by the current World Pool Association rankings.




Written by Michael Day, published on 26th June 2015