Our sponsor...

Our Friends...

Picture courtesy of Matchroom Pool

Pool - 2015 American 14.1 Championship

​22nd-25th October 2015 / Diamond Billiards, Midlothian, VA, USA


​Darren Appleton warmed up for the imminent US Open by defending his American 14.1 title - and also gained some revenge on rival Thorsten Hohmann in the process.

The 11th edition of the event had a strong field of 40 entrants all hungry for a slice of the $30,000 pot.

Hopefuls were split into 8 round robin groups of 5. The table topper of each group progressed to the Last 16 straight knockouts, whilst second and third placed players were seeded and drawn to play each other in an elimination round for the right to meet them.

Appleton was one of four players in the competition to possess a 100% record come the end of the RR phase. He then took out Bobby Hunter 125-51, Dennis Orcollo 150-100 and Mika Immonen 150-113.

Waiting for the Brit in the final would be the familiar foe of Hohmann, the figure who denied him during the World 14.1 final a few months earlier in New York.

‘Toastie’, winner of this event in 2013, also navigated the course without defeat. In the KO’s the German eliminated Rodney Morris 125-66, Dan Barouty 150-58 and Warren Kiamco 150-65.

The anticipated final started slow. Appleton managed to get a foothold with a run of 42, only to see Hohmann respond with a 56.

Darren then made a couple of 20’s to retake the initiative, but his opponent then led going into the 90’s.

However, with Hohmann on a sequence of 13, he botched a break shot - leaving the balls spread attractively wide open. This was the only opportunity ‘Dynamite’ needed, as he continued to run a 65 to take the honours for the second consecutive year.

Results (from the Knockout Stages onwards)
Elimination Round - losers received $400 each
Jayson Shaw (Great Britain)    23-125       Warren Kiamco (Philippines)
 Kevin Clark (USA)                      125-68       Sean Morgan (USA)
Corey Duell (USA)                       79-125       Rodney Morris (USA)
Alex Pagulayan (Canada)          56-125       Dan Barouty (USA)
Stevie Moore (USA)                    120-125     Bobby Hunter (USA)
Niels Feijen (Netherlands)      106-125     Mike Davis (USA)
Daryl Peach (Great Britain)     125-48       Karl Boyes (Great Britain)
Ivo Aarts (Netherlands)            125-64       Alan Duty (USA)

(Last 16) - losers receive $700 each
Nick Van Den Berg (Netherlands)      71-125        Kiamco
Johnny Archer (USA)                              76-125        Clark
Thorsten Hohmann (Germany)          125-66        Morris
Jason Klatt (Canada)                               88-125        Barouty
Darren Appleton (Great Britain)         125-47       Hunter
Dennis Orcollo (Philippines)                125-62       Davis
Mika Immonen (Finland)                      125-96       Peach
Ralph Eckert (Germany)                        125-78       Aarts

(Quarter-Finals) - losers receive $1,500 each
Kiamco         150-26       Clark
Hohmann    150-58       Barouty
Appleton     150-100      Orcollo
Immonen     150-83       Aarts

(Semi-Finals) - losers receive $2,500 each
Kiamco        65-150        Hohmann
Appleton    150-113       Immonen

(Final) - winner receives $6,000 / runner-up receives $4,000
Hohmann    94-150      Appleton

Written and published by Michael Day on 29th October 2015