Our sponsor...

Ka Wai Cheung is presented his trophy by IBSF President Capt. PVK Mohan.

Picture courtesy of the IBSF website

Youth Snooker - IBSF World Under 18 Boys Championship
3rd-11th October 2015 / Maza Park Snooker Centre, Saint Petersburg, Russia


In an all-Hong Kong final, Ka Wai Cheung defeated Ming Tung Chan to become the inaugural IBSF World Under 18 Boys Champion.

Held in Saint Petersburg, Russia, the male division consisted of 74 entries from 18 different countries. As customary in IBSF events, the field was initially split into round robin groups, with players attempting to qualify for the Last 48 knockout stage.

16 year old Cheung easily negotiated Group N, winning all three matches with the loss of just one frame.

As one of the top seeds, he advanced straight to the Last 32. There, he continued his bullish form with victories over the Indian trio of Mehul Saini (3-0), Kaavya Bharath (4-0) and Shrikrishna Suryanarayanan (4-1). Cheung then booked a final berth when dispatching Wales’ Dylan Emery 4-2.

Chan was similarly impressive during his long weeks work, although he did have to survive a deciding frame finish over another HK player in the form of Yun Fung Tam in the Quarter-Finals.

In the best of 9 championship match, Cheung started brightest, making breaks of 48 and 52 in taking a 3-0 lead.

Chan would eventually get a foothold in the tie with wins in frames 4 and 5 (48 break), although his younger opponent would return the favour, fashioning a run of 51 to close out the match 5-2.

Egypt’s Abdelrahman Shahin made the tournament’s highest break with an effort of 109.

Results (from the last 16 onwards)
Shrikrishna Suryanarayanan   (India)        4-2    Keishin Kamihashi   (Japan)
Kaavya Bharath   (India0                                0-4    Ka Wai Cheung   (Hong Kong)
Dylan Emery   (Wales)                                     4-1    Amir Nardeia   (Israel)
Rodion Judin   (Latvia)                                     4-0    Abdelrahman Shahin   (Egypt)
Tyler Rees   (Wales)                                          4-0    Hassan Zabihpour   (Iran)
Abdul Raheem   (Pakistan)                            4-0    Arman Atashsokhan   (Iran)
Patrik Tiihonen   (Finland)                             1-4    Yun Fung Tam   (Hong Kong)
Ming Tung Chan   (Hong Kong)                    4-1    Ales Herout   (Czech Republic)

Suryanarayanan    1-4    Cheung
Emery                       4-1    Judin
Rees                          3-4    Raheem
Tam                           3-4    Chan

Cheung        4-2    Emery
Raheem        1-4    Chan

Cheung        5-2    Chan    

For full results and more stories please visit the IBSF website here.

Written and published by Michael Day on the 20th October 2015