Amateur Snooker - 2015 New Zealand National Snooker Championship
13th-18th July 2015 / Hamilton Cosmopolitan Club, Hamilton, New Zealand


Henry Killian made it a hat-trick of New Zealand National Snooker Championships with overwhelming victory at the Hamilton Cosmopolitan Club.

The 52 year old from Auckland, who was champion back in 2012 and 2013, began his bid to regain the title with a perfect record during the initial round robin phase. He topped section 2 by winning all of his matches without dropping a single frame.

Killian continued this bruising snooker into the knockouts with a 5-0 clean sweep of Jamie Butler in the last 16.

Although losing his first frames of the week in the quarter finals to Dave Witehira, the 5-2 scoreline was comfortable enough. Killian then resumed the field annihilation with a 6-0 success over Matthew Scarborough in the last 4.

A stiffer test would certainly await in the final with Hawke’s Bay cueist Bayden Jackson also in good knick having eliminated reigning champion Mark Canovan previously. Jackson also started the best of 15 championship match well, taking leads of 3-2 and 4-3.

However, Killian seemed to find another gear in a five frame winning streak that took him to the finish line. Final score 8-4.

The champion now has the opportunity to represent his country at the IBSF World Amateur Championship in Egypt during November. Killian has already played abroad a number of times for New Zealand, so it looks very likely that he will accept the invite.

2015 New Zealand Snooker Championship
Results (from the last 16 knockouts)
Henry Killian            5-0    Jamie Butler
Dave Witehira          5-3    Dale Kwok
Steve Thomas           4-5    Matthew Scarborough
Thomas Cook            2-5    Steve Robertson
Mark Canovan          5-1    Ivan Kendrick
Mark Hannah           1-5    Peter de Groot
Bayden Jackson        5-2    Paul Temple
Bill Earle                    0-5    Chris Maltby

Killian                  5-2    Witehira
Scarborough      5-4    Robertson
Canovan              5-1    de Groot
Jackson                5-0    Maltby

Killian                  6-0    Scarborough
Canovan              1-6    Jackson

Killian                  8-4    Jackson

Highest Break - Henry Killian (97 clearance)

Written by Michael Day, published on 26th August 2015

Our sponsor...