Pool - 2015 Open 10 Ball Professional Players Championship

​16th-19th April 2015 / Greater Philadelphia Expo Center, Oaks, Philadelphia, USA


Dennis Orcollo of the Philippines walked away with top honours at the Open 10 Ball Pro event in Philadelphia.

​As part of the 4 day Super Billiards Expo XXIII, this prestigious tournament boasted a 64 player field jam packed with some of the sports biggest stars. The competition also carried Mosconi Cup 2015 ranking points for American participants, and $10,000 prize money to the winner.

Orcollo was lethal throughout the double elimination format, as he looked for his maiden Expo title.

He began with wins over Patrick Carosi, Danny Olson, Rodney Morris, Johnny Archer and Thorsten Hohmann to reach the hot seat match.

There he would face defending 3 time consecutive champion Shane Van Boening for a place in the championship rubber. 'Robocop' was in no mood for mercy as he banished the 'South Dakota Kid' to the losers section after a 10-7 success.

Van Boening would then have his grasp on the title relinquished in losing to Scotland's Jayson Shaw on the other side.

Shaw made it to the final going the scenic route after initial defeat in round 3.

The opening 8 racks were shared, but it was the European cueist who gained a stranglehold in the tie as he carved out an 11-7 lead in the race to 13.

Orcollo however remained determined, showing his purpose by leveling it back up again at 11-11 and then 12-12.

Despite a dry break in the 25th, the Filipino caught Shaw in his pushout trap to eventually run the rack and take the crown.

2015 Open 10 Ball Professional Players Championship

Final Standings (top 16)

1st           Dennis Orcollo (Philippines)                      $10,000

2nd         Jayson Shaw (Scotland)                                $5,000

3rd          Shane Van Boening (USA)                           $2,500

4th          Mike Dechaine (USA)                                   $2,000

5th/6th  Thorsten Hohmann (Germany)

                Warren Kiamco (Philippines)                     $1,750 (each)

7th/8th  Mika Immonen (Finland)

                Johnny Archer (USA)                                     $1,500 (each)

9th-12th     John Morra / Kevin Clark / 

                Darren Appleton / Brandon Shuff            $1,250 (each)

13th-16th    Rodney Morris / Scott Frost / 

                Hunter Lombardo / Corey Duell                $1,000 (each)

​Written by Michael Day​​

Our sponsor...

Our Friends...