Our sponsor...

Chinese 8 Ball – 2017/18 JOY Chinese 8 Ball Tour (Lianyungang Event) 
6th-15th July / Lianyungang, China 


Zheng Yubo has completed a remarkable double after winning the Lianyungang leg of the 2017/18 JOY Chinese 8 Ball Tour. 

This was the second of four such tournaments held throughout the year in China. The series also acts as a qualifying system into the lucrative JOY World Masters which will be held near the start of next year.

6 continents were represented in the 300 plus starting entry with international players from 13 different countries joining the large home contingent. 

A number of well-known Cuesports stars were present including current World Pool Masters Champion David Alcaide (Spain) and former Crucible qualified snooker player Dechawat Poomjaeng (Thailand) amongst others. 

Despite the cosmopolitan beginning, though, the latter stages were exclusively contested by players from the host nation. The best performing overseas player was Myanmar's Ko Ar Ti, who was within one victory of reaching Stage Four.  

Zheng took the title and banked the $15,000 first prize following a 19-14 success over Qin Liwen. His achievement is even more pronounced given the fact he also won the first tour event in Linyi a couple of months ago. These back to back triumphs put him well clear at the top of the rankings. 

Reigning World Chinese 8 Ball Champion and a two time former winner of the Masters, Yang Fan lost in the Last 32. 

The main event 2018 JOY World Chinese 8 Ball Masters boasts an impressive $150,000 purse to the winner. Englishman Gareth Potts made it a hat-trick of Masters titles earlier in the year after a dramatic comeback against youngster Zhang Kunpeng which resulted in a Black Ball Shootout. 

The next stop on this year's tour will be in Xi Ning City between the 18th-27th August. 

Quarter-Finals (Race to 17 – 180 minutes time limit) 
Wang Yuheng 15-14 Shi Hanqing 
Wang Yun 17-11 Yu Haitao 
Qin Liwen 17-12 Guan Zhen 
Zheng Yubo 17-9 Wang Yang 

Semi-Finals (Race to 17 – 180 minutes time limit) 
Zheng 17-10 Wang Yun 
Qin 16-12 Wang Yuheng 

Final (Race to 19 – 200 minutes time limit) 
Zheng 19-14 Qin 

The picture above is courtesy of Max Mu.

​Written and published by Michael Day on the 15th July 2017