Our sponsor...


Mark Canovan dropped just 6 frames in 8 matches when winning the NZBSA 2015 Whitestone City Snooker Classic.

He comfortably topped his 6 man group winning all his matches thus qualifying as a top seed.

From the last 16 onwards he defeated Bill Earle 3-0, Jason Todd 3-1 and Healey White 3-1.

He would indeed have his toughest match up in the final against Neil Whalley, but he squeezed through 4-3.

Whalley had the weekends highest break of 101.

26 players took part.


RESULTS (Quarter-Finals onwards)
Mark CANOVAN       3-1        Jason TODD
Paul LEWIS                0-3        Healey WHITE
Danny RYAN             2-3        Neil WHALLEY
Dave WITEHIRA       3-2        Alan GILL

CANOVAN        3-1    WHITE            

WHALLEY        3-0    WITEHIRA

CANOVAN       4-3    WHALLEY

written by Michael Day, published on 14th June 2014


Brendan O’Donoghue from Nenagh won his 2nd Irish National Snooker Championship during the RIBSA finals weekend at the Ivy Rooms in Carlow this month.

The champion comfortably beat first time finalist Robert Murphy 7-2.

O’Donoghue had been in fine form throughout the staggered competition; he also made the high break of 142 in a semi-final victory over former professional Michael Judge.

This was one of 4 centuries recorded by him in the event; the others being 101, 130 and 136.

He first lifted the trophy 12 years ago in 2003.

Results (from the Quarter-Finals onwards)
John SUTTON                5-0    Robert REDMOND
Peter DONEGAN          4-5    Robert MURPHY
Michael JUDGE             5-0    John FARRELL
Colm GILCREEST          1-5    Brendan O’DONOGHUE

SUTTON                4-6    MURPHY
JUDGE                   2-6    O’DONOGHUE

MURPHY              2-7    O’DONOGHUE

Former professional World Number 84 Colm Gilcreest of Kildare retained his Irish Masters Snooker title when he ousted Dublin’s John Farrell 5-4 in an entertaining final.

Gilcreest also survived a final frame shootout in the last four, as he won 6 knockout matches to take the crown once again. He made the highest break of the tournament overall as well with an effort of 106 - he also had a 102.

Results (from the Quarter-Finals onwards)
Brendan THOMAS          1-4    John FARRELL
Eugene HUGHES            0-4    Nigel POWER
Garry HARDIMAN          2-4    Colm GILCREEST
Kevin McMAHON           0-4    Frank SARSFIELD

FARRELL                4-2    POWER
GILCREEST            4-3    SARSFIELD

FARRELL                4-5    GILCREEST


During the EASB national finals weekend, a number of unresolved issues were concluded at the Longton Snooker and Pool Club in Stoke on Trent.

Jake Nicholson successfully defended his English 6 Reds Championship with a comprehensive win over John Hartley 6-0 in the final.

It was very much a similar story in the English Masters final with Jonathan Bagley whitewashing Anthony Harris 5-0.

In the Club Players Championship, Shaun Wilkes beat Anthony Hebblethwaite 5-3.


53 players from all across Australia descended upon the Mingara Recreation Club in Tumbi Umbi, New South Wales to compete for the 2015 Australian Masters Snooker Championship.

But it was Victoria resident Paul Thomerson who would lift his maiden national title after narrowly ousting experienced veteran Joe Minici (NSW) 4-3 in the final; a culmination of 4 days action.

And it would be a dramatic final frame shootout that would see Thomerson nick it on the final pink to deny a career Masters hat trick for Minici.

Thomerson, who is father to the reigning Australia and Oceania Under 21 champion Ryan, will now represent his country during the World Masters Championship in South Africa at the end of the year.

Players were initially divided into groups before reaching the knockout stages.

Losing quarter-finalist Stuart Duncan made the events highest break with a run of 87.

2015 Australian Masters Snooker Championship
RESULTS (from Quarter-Finals onwards)
Brendan TAYLOR (Victoria)        1-4        Timothy NG (NSW)
Paul THOMERSON (Victoria)     4-2        Glen WILKINSON (NSW)
Joe MINICI (NSW)                          4-1        David WALLER (NSW)
Michael HOUGH (NSW)               4-3        Stuart DUNCAN (NSW)

NG            1-4    THOMERSON        

MINICI    4-3    HOUGH



Scott Macfarlane won the 2015 Scottish National Snooker Championship with victory against Michael Collumb during finals month at the Minnesota Fats Club in Glasgow.

Both finalists had fought through the qualification rounds earlier in the season, but it was Macfarlane who dominated early proceedings in taking a 4-0 lead. 

Collumb opened his account with a 30 clearance to win the fifth frame, but the eventual champion nicked the sixth on the black, and later on made a 66 break to take the title 7-2.

A few days later at the same venue, Pat McKinney won the Scottish Masters title with a 5-2 success over former professional world number 69 Craig MacGillivray,

Scottish National Championship
RESULTS (from Quarter-Finals onwards)
Robert CARLISLE          5-2        Lee MEIN
Michael COLLUMB       5-1        Ross VALLANCE
Scott MACFARLANE    5-3        Sean IQBAL
Chris TOTTEN                3-5        Craig MACGILLIVRAY

CARLISLE             5-6    COLLUMB


Scottish Masters Championship (for over 40’s)
RESULTS (from Quarter-Finals onwards) - breaks in brackets
Mike WATSON                        0-5        Craig MACGILLIVRAY
Dougie MELROSE        (71)    1-5        Danny MAXWELL
Pat MCKINNEY          (102)    5-0        Martin COOK
Paul JAMIESON                       5-4        Richie MACDONALD

MACGILLIVRAY  (73,67,60) 5-3        MAXWELL
MCKINNEY                               5-1        JAMIESON

MACGILLIVRAY                      2-5    (88) MCKINNEY